The Music Week Playlist, January 23, 2019

The Music Week Playlist, January 23, 2019

Music Week’s guide to the most essential tracks of the moment…

LANA DEL REY
Hope Is A Dangerous Thing For A Woman Like Me To Have, But I Have It (Polydor)

“Don’t ask if I’m happy, you know that I’m not,” sings Lana Del Rey, on a glacial piano ballad with a thrilling, sinister edge. A song on the brink.

Contact Carl Fysh
carl.fysh@s-414.com

 

FAT WHITE FAMILY
Feet (Domino)

Fat White Family resurface after a bleak midwinter recording stint in Sheffield with Feet, which dials down the crustiness in favour of groove and swing.

Contact Steve Philips
steve@carryonpress.co.uk

 

STELLA DONNELLY
Old Man (Secretly Canadian)

Stella Donnelly trails debut album Beware Of The Dogs with a wash of gently strummed guitars that takes aim at creepy old men. Awesome.

Contact Hannah Daisy Braid
hannah@chalkpressagency.co.uk

 

LUCY ROSE
Conversation (Communion)

In confusing song title news, Lucy Rose returns with Conversation, the sparse lead single from her upcoming fourth album, No Words Left. Go figure.

Contact Jon Lawrence
jon@chalkpressagency.com

 

DAVIDO
Wonder Woman (Columbia)

This weekend (27), Afrobeats star Davido headlines the O2. The snaking groove of this current single will soundtrack a landmark moment.

Contact Taponeswa Mavunga
taponeswa.mavunga@sonymusic.com

 

THE KILLERS
Land Of The Free (Virgin EMI)

The Killers’ first act of 2019 is to issue a call to arms, addressing the tangled web of American politics with gusto. Sounds like the Las Vegas crew are on a mission.

Contact Rachel Hendry
rachel@rachelhendry.com

 

HAND HABITS
Placeholder (Saddle Creek)

Signed to Saddle Creek and armed with this winsome new single, Meg Duffy could be one of 2019’s big indie breakthroughs. The LP drops March 1.

Contact Alex Cull
alex@braceyourselfpr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...