The Music Week Playlist: March 12, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: March 12, 2018

Matt Maltese
Greatest Comedian (Café Bleu Recordings)

You can never quite relax fully during a Matt Maltese song, and the first fruit of the 21-year-old crooner’s LA album sessions with Jonathan Rado is a case in point. Quirks lurk around every corner.

Contact Dan Carson
dan@insideslashout.com


DJ Khaled (feat. Jay-Z, Future & Beyoncé)
Top Off (Epic)

Bellowing his own name in the intro, DJ Khaled sounds chuffed to have assembled such a starry line-up for this needly new jam. Fair enough.

Contact Ashley Townley
ashley.townley@dawbell.com


Suspect (feat. Jesse James Solomon & Skepta)
One Way (Rinse)

South London rap talent Suspect makes a big impression here, as slow, hazy beats wash around his bars, plus those from Jesse James Solomon and Skepta.

Contact Suspect
suspectraps@gmail.com


Skating Polly
Queen For A Day (El Camino Media)

Featuring guest vocals from punk deity Exene Cervenka, the first drop from upcoming LP The Make It All Show shreds in style.

Contact Kate Price
kate@stereosanctity.co.uk


Big Ups
PPP (Exploding In Sound)

The Brooklyn scrappers come out of hiding with a dose of head-banging, throat-shredding punk rock. New LP Two Parts Together hits May 18.

Contact Thom Denson
thom@braceyourselfpr.com


Calpurnia
City Boy (Transgressive)

Stranger Things star Finn Wolfhard branches out into lo-fi rock‘n’roll on his band’s rickety debut single, produced by Cadien Lake James of Twin Peaks.

Contact Jon Lawrence
Jon@chalkpressagency.co.uk


Plan B
Guess Again (Atlantic)

Plan B blasts back into view with three dancehall-flavoured minutes smeared with distortion and blaring sirens. A song designed to rattle the ribs.

Contact Claire Coster
claire.coster@atlanticrecords.co.uk

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...