The Music Week Playlist: October 10, 2018

The Japanese House

Music Week’s guide to the most essential tracks of the moment…

THE JAPANESE HOUSE
Lilo (Dirty Hit)

Amber Bain reignites her Japanese House project with a synthy tune that floats and bobs like its inflatable namesake. Production from labelmates The 1975 adds pop heft.

Contact Chloe Melick
chloe@insideslashout.com

 

LAUV (FEAT. JULIA MICHAELS)
There’s No Way (Lauv)

Lauv has described Julia Michaels as “an absolute legend”, so it’s no surprise that their chemistry intensifies this lovelorn new collab.

Contact Sinead Mills
sinead@practisemusic.co.uk

 

ZUZU
Dark Blue (Virgin EMI)

A bluesy waltz that builds towards a hurried jangle, Dark Blue is inspired by space mice The Clangers, and what an enjoyable fact that is.

Contact Emily Cooper
emily@everythingcountspr.com

 

SIGRID
Sucker Punch (Island)

Sigrid’s records have shown great consistency in 2018, and Sucker Punch is no different, an addictive addition to a canon of bangers.

Contact Elspeth Merry
elspeth.merry@umusic.com

 

YAEJI
One More (Self-released)

The New York musician’s first new song of 2018 grooves gently, with breathy vocals dunked in autotune. Like going clubbing underwater.

Contact Linda Valenziano
linda.valenziano@sacksco.com

 

MELLAH
What It Is (Columbia)

Liam Ramsden has been working with King Krule producer Rodaidh McDonald, and this indie shuffler adds texture to Mellah’s sound.

Contact Joe Parry
joe@insideslashout.com

 

LIL WAYNE (FEAT. KENDRICK LAMAR)
Mona Lisa (Young Money/Cash Money/Republic)

As piano twinkles, Mona Lisa unfolds into a slow, dark concoction that contrasts well with rapid bars from two rap heavyweights.

Contact Shane O’Neill
Shane.ONeill@umusic.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...