The Music Week Playlist: September 19, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: September 19, 2018

Music Week’s guide to the most essential tracks of the moment

JESSIE REYEZ
F*** Being Friends (Polydor/FMLY)

Another prime example of Jessie Reyez’s knack for making punchy putdowns accessible, this is from next month’s EP, Being Human In Public. The Toronto artist continues to fascinate.

Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com

 

DIZZEE RASCAL & SKEPTA
Money Right (Dirtee Stank Recording)

Right then, it’s Dizzee and Skepta trading bars over the piano motif from Japan’s Night Porter. This track pretty much creaks under the sheer weight of talent.

Contact Chloe Melick
chloe@insideslashout.com

 

MAHALIA
Surprise Me (Atlantic)

Pick up this heavy-hearted R&B jam on Mahalia’s new Seasons EP, which drops this week on Atlantic. The Leicester singer’s smoky tones are enchanting.

Contact Rachel Campbell
rachel@wired-pr.co.uk

 

TOM MORELLO (FEAT. K FLAY)
Lucky One (BMG)

With collabs from GZA and RZA to Marcus Mumford, Tom Morello’s The Atlas Underground LP promises much intrigue. This sludgy number bodes well.

Contact Fiona Raisbeck
fiona@murraychalmers.com

 

OCTAVIAN
Revenge (Black Butter)

A blink and you’ll miss it highlight from Octavian’s brand new Spaceman mixtape, this showcases the South London rapper’s murkier side.

Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com

 

BILL RYDER-JONES
And Then There’s You (Domino)

From upcoming album Yawn, this sees the former Coral man tap into guitar euphoria in the only way he knows: by delving into sadness first and foremost.

Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com

 

KURT VILE
Bassackwards (Matador)

Ten minutes of unadulterated brilliance from Kurt Vile, the second single from new record Bottle It In is as endless and confusing as his massive, wavy barnet.

Contact Noam Klar
noam@matadorrecords.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...