The Music Week Sleighlist: December 17, 2018

The Music Week Sleighlist: December 17, 2018

KATY PERRY
Cozy Little Christmas (Amazon Music)

Nothing says Christmas like a streaming exclusive, and that’s what K-Pez serves up here. As bells jingle and drums clap, she implores Santa to take the day off and get a massage. Fair enough.

Contact Chloe Melick
chloe@insideslashout.com

 

GABRIELLE
This Christmas (BMG)

What do you mean you didn’t know Gabrielle had never made a Christmas song? This version of Donny Hathaway’s smooth 1971 hit caps her comeback year.

Contact Katie Gwyther
katie@fearpr.co.uk

 

BLOSSOMS
Wonderful Christmastime (Virgin EMI)

This synthy Paul McCartney cover isn’t the only gift the Stockport indie boys are giving: they’ve released a Christmas comic strip on Instagram. Cracking!

Contact George Cochran
george@murraychalmers.com

 

THE STAVES
Home Alone, Too (Atlantic)

The folky Watford trio get introspective on a seasonal ballad that delivers airy harmonies and realism: “I hate this time of year/It’s dark and it’s shit”.

Contact Harriet Brampton
harriet@chalkpressagency.co.uk

 

JESSIE J
Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer/Jingle Bells (Republic)

This amazing double-header is the standout track on Jessie J’s This Christmas Day album. A yuletide treat that has to be heard to be believed.

Contact Mikey A Abegunde
mikey@intersectpr.com

 

CONFIDENCE MAN
Santa’s Comin’ Down The Chimney (Heavenly Recordings)

The Brisbane electro freaks promise to “pop Bublé’s bubble” with this, a Christmas song that’s far better suited to a 24-hour rave than a turkey dinner.

Contact Steve Philips
steve@carryonpress.co.uk

 

FREYA RIDINGS
Merry Christmas Everyone (Good Soldier)

Making a Shakin’ Stevens cover sound cool is no mean feat, and this is a timely reminder of Ridings’ vocal wizardry ahead of what will be a busy 2019.

Contact Katherine Bawden
katherine.bawden@warnermusic.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...