Idles, Jorja Smith and Let's Eat Grandma lead AIM Awards 2018 nominations

Idles, Jorja Smith and Let's Eat Grandma lead AIM Awards 2018 nominations

Idles, Jorja SmithLet’s Eat Grandma and Phoebe Bridgers are among the nominees for the AIM Awards 2018.

The shortlists for the 16 categories at the eighth edition of the Association of Independent Music (AIM) Awards were announced at a launch event in London tonight (August 7). 

Idles lead the way with four nominations, while Smith, Bridgers and Let’s Eat Grandma have three each and NTS Radio founder Femi Adeyemi will receive the Indie Champion award.

The public voted to decide the nominees in the Best Live Act section, they are: Cassia, DMAs, Erasure, Idles and Steps.

The recipients of the Innovator Award, the Outstanding Contribution To Music gong and the Pioneer Award will be revealed in the run up to the ceremony, which takes place at London’s Brewery on September 4. BBC Radio 1Xtra’s MistaJam and HQ’s Sharon Carpenter will host on the night.

Among the nominees for Independent Album Of The Year are Jorja Smith, Kamasi Washington, Young Fathers and Shame, while Bicep, Dave, Let’s Eat Grandma and Wolf Alice are among those competing for Independent Track Of The Year.

AJ Tracey, Goat Girl, Idles, Jorja Smith and Sophie will go head to head for the UK Breakthrough award, while Cigarettes After Sex, Confidence Man, Moses Sumney, Phoebe Bridgers and Zeal & Ardour are up for International Breakthrough.

Brownswood Recordings, Ninja Tune, Trangressive, Dirty Hit and Dead Oceans are the nominees in the Independent Label Of The Year category.

AIM also revealed Young Urban Arts Foundation as the charity sponsor for this years awards.

Kerry O'Brien, CEO/founder of YUAF said: "We are absolutely delighted to be this year's charity partner for the AIM Awards. The Young Urban Arts Foundation's ethos heavily focuses on improving mental health and empowering young people to become independent, especially those wishing to pursue a career in the creative industries - so it is a perfect fit for us to raise awareness of our charity and Skip To The Beat programme. We're honoured to have this opportunity and looking forward to the night, to generate as much funding possible for our Skip To The Beat programme and help young people go places".

Tickets for this year’s show are available now, revisit Music Week’s highlights of last year’s show here and check out the winners here.

The full list of nominees for the AIM Awards 2018 is as follows:

Independent Album of the Year - in association with Ingrooves

Charlotte Gainsbourg - Rest (Because Music)
Jorja Smith - Lost & Found (FAMM)
Kamaal Williams - The Return (Warp Records)
Kamasi Washington - Heaven and Earth (XL Recordings)
Let's Eat Grandma - I'm All Ears (Transgressive)
Nadine Shah - Holiday Destination (1965 Records/[PIAS])
Phoebe Bridgers - Stranger In The Alps (Dead Oceans)
Shame - Songs Of Praise (Dead Oceans)
Young Fathers - Cocoa Sugar (Ninja Tune)

Independent Track of the Year - in association with Spotify

Bicep - Glue (Ninja Tune)
Christine and the Queens - Girlfriend (Because Music)
Dave - Question Time (Dave)
Peggy Gou - It Makes You Forget (Itgehane) (Ninja Tune)
Charlotte Gainsbourg - Deadly Valentine (Because Music)     
Ghostpoet - Immigrant Boogie (Play It Again Sam)
Let's Eat Grandma - Falling Into Me (Transgressive)
Phoebe Bridgers - Motion Sickness (Dead Oceans)
Shame - One Rizla (Dead Oceans)
Wolf Alice - Don't Delete The Kisses (Dirty Hit)

Best Sophomore Release - in association with Radio X

Fever Ray - Plunge (Rabid Records)
Gwenno - Le Kov (Heavenly Recordings)
King Krule - The OOZ (XL Recordings)
Let's Eat Grandma - I'm All Ears (Transgressive)
Nines - Crop Circle (XL Recordings)

UK Breakthrough of the Year - in association with YouTube

AJ Tracey (self-released)
Goat Girl (Rough Trade Records)
Idles (Partisan Records)
Jorja Smith (FAMM)
SOPHIE (Transgressive)

International Breakthrough of the Year - in association with Deezer

Cigarettes After Sex (Partisan Records)
Confidence Man (Heavenly Recordings)
Moses Sumney (Jagjaguar)
Phoebe Bridgers (Dead Oceans)
Zeal & Ardor (MVKA)

Best Live Act - in association with Songkick

Cassia (Distiller Records)
DMA’s (Infectious Music)
Erasure (Mute Records)
Idles (Partisan Records)
Steps (Absolute Label Services)

Hardest Working Group or Artist

DAWN (Dawn Richard) (Our Dawn Entertainment)
Idles (Partisan Records)
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard (Heavenly Recordings)
Mogwai (Rock Action Records)
Tom Misch (Beyond The Groove)

Best Creative Packaging - in association with MCPS

Black Sabbath - The Ten Year War (BMG)
Fela Kuti - Box Set #4 Curated By Erykah Badu (Partisan Records)
Hüskur Dü - Savage Young Dü (Numero Group)
Oneohtrix Point Never - Age Of (Warp Records)
Wishbone Ash - The Vintage Years 1970-1991 (Snapper Music) 

Independent Label of the Year - in association with Believe

Brownswood Recordings
Ninja Tune
Dirty Hit
Dead Oceans

Best Small Label - in association with Awesome Merchandise

Black Acre Records
Rocket Recordings
Rock Action Records
On the Corner Records

Indie Champion Award - in association with PIAS

Femi Adeyemi - Founder of NTS Radio

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act

Camelphat & Elderbook (Defected)
Dave (Dave)
Hardy Caprio (A2!)
Jorja Smith (FAMM)
Yxng Bane (Disturbing London)

Independent Video of the Year - in association with Vevo

Idles - Colossus (Partisan Records) / Directed by Will Hooper
Leon Vynehall - Movements (Chapter III) (Ninja Tune) / Directed by Young Replicant
Moses Sumney - Doomed (Jagjaguar) / Directed by Allie Avital
Novo Amor - Birthplace (Allpoints) / Directed by Sil van der Woerd & Jorik Dozy
Superorganism - Everybody Want to Be Famous (Domino Records) / Directed by Robert Strangers

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...