Yola, Jade Bird, Mavis Staples, Highwomen and Lukas Nelson lead UK Americana Awards 2020 nominations

Yola, Jade Bird, Mavis Staples, Highwomen and Lukas Nelson lead UK Americana Awards 2020 nominations

Yesterday (November 4), the UK Americana Awards revealed its 2020 nominations. Yola, Jade Bird, Mavis Staples, Larkin Poe, Highwomen and Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real are among the nominees for the event which is set to take place on January 30. The news coinicides with the announcement that the Awards is moving to a bigger venue for 2020 and will now take place at the Troxy in East London. The special guest musical director for the Awards will be musician and producer Jonathan Wilson.  

The AMA-UK have also announced other special awards that will be given to artists to mark their contribution to the genres of Americana, country, folk and beyond:

Lifetime Achievement Award - Joan Armatrading

Trailblazer Award - Nick Lowe

Grassroots Award - Mark Whitfield - Americana-UK.com

Emerging Artist Award - Ferris and Sylvester

Legend Award - Lonnie Donegan

Coinciding with the nominations reveal is the news that the fifth annual AmericanaFest UK will return to Hackney, London for three days at the end of January 2020.

The evenings of January 28 – 29 will see 75 artists from UK, USA, Canada, Australia and Europe showcasing across eight venues in Hackney, featuring a mix of emerging and established artists including The Secret Sisters, Jonathan Wilson and Ilse DeLang.

The Conference starts on 28 January at Hackney Picturehouse with Joan Armatrading Keynote Speaker. Further conference speakers and panels will be announced in the run-up to the festival.

You can see the full list of nominations below:

UK Instrumentalist of The Year
Ben Smith
Jim Maving
Sia?n Monaghan
Will Page

UK Song of The Year
Little Piece of Heaven by Elles Bailey (Written by Elles Bailey, Bobby Wood and Dan Auerbach)
The Fire by Jamie Freeman (Written by Jamie Freeman and Ben Glover)
Hear Your Voice by Danni Nicholls (Written by Danni Nicholls and Kyshona Armstrong)
Amy by Roseanne Reid (Written by Roseanne Reid)

UK Album of The Year
Here There’s No Sirens by Pete Gow (produced by Joe Bennett )
Chasing Lights by Ida Mae (produced by Ethan Johns)
Bleeding on the Soundtrack by William the Conqueror (produced by Ethan Johns)
Walk Through Fire by Yola (produced by Dan Auerbach)

UK Artist of The Year
Jade Bird
Bear’s Den
Frank Turner

International Song of The Year
Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) by Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real (written by Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real)
Letter to Madeline by Ian Noe (written by Ian Noe)
Saying Goodbye by J.S. Ondara (written by J.S. Ondara)
Me and The Ghost of Charlemagne By Amy Speace (written by Amy Speace)

International Album of The Year
Undress by Felice Brothers (produced by Jeremy Backofen)
Highwomen by Highwomen (produced by Dave Cobb)
Songs Of Our Native Daughters by Our Native Daughters (produced by Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell)
Mint Condition by Caroline Spence (produced by Dan Knobler)

International Artist of The Year
Brandi Carlile
The Dead South
Larkin Poe
Mavis Staples
Showcase festival Line-up:
Amelia White, Amy LaVere, Amy Speace, Blair Dunlop, Blue Rose Code, Brand New Zeros, Callum Pitt, Catherine MacLellan, Chatham County Line, Chloe Foy, Cory Gallant, Daddy Long Legs, Danni Nicholls, Darling West, David Wax Museum, Dean Maywood, Dean Owens & The Southerners, Del Barber, Demi Marriner, Dennis Ellsworth, Dylan Earle, Dylan Menzie, Elliot Brood, Falls, Ferris & Sylvester, Flats & Sharps, Gill Landry, Hollie Rodgers, House of Songs In The Round, Ilse DeLang, Ira Wolf, Irish Mythen, Izaak Opatz, Izzy Walsh, Jack Klatt, Jonah Tolchin, Jonathan Wilson,  Joshua Burnside, Judy Blank, Kerri Watt, Kyshona, Lady Nade, Lennie Gallant, Lucy Feliz,  Lucy Grubb, Malin Pettersen, Mapache, Martin Harley Band, Megan Nash, Michaela Anne, Native Harrow, O & O, Pete Gow & The Siren Strings, Peter Bruntnell, Rob Heron & The Teapad Orchestra, Robert Vincent, Roseanne Reid, Sam Baker, The Secret Sisters, Smooth Hound Smith, Stephen Fearing, Strung Like a Horse, Sunny Ozell, Terra Lightfoot, The Ballroom Thieves, The Goat Roper Rodeo Band, The Orange Circus Band, The Vangaurds, Union Duke, Worry Dolls.




For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...