Blink-182 and All Time Low members unite for new band Simple Creatures

Blink-182 and All Time Low members unite for new band Simple Creatures

Members from two chart-topping rock bands have today (January 24) announced that they are collaborating on a new project.

Christened Simple Creatures, and comprising Blink-182 bassist/vocalist Mark Hoppus and All Time Low guitarist/singer Alex Gaskarth, the group have surprise-released their debut single Drug – which was written Hoppus and Gaskarth in collaboration with producer, Zakk Cervini (Blink-182, Yungblud, All Time Low, 5 Seconds Of Summer). It will be available via all digital services on Friday January 25.

Speaking about the band, Hoppus said: “Drug is always the first song we play people when introducing them to Simple Creatures, so it only makes sense that it’s the first single. I love the ratty guitar lead mixed with the thumping kick drum. Lyrically, the song is about being destroyed by the things you love.”

Gaskarth added: “Drug is a song about someone or something you want the most, being terrible for you... Feels great until it doesn’t, but then you can’t stop.  In the studio it felt immediately like it was the song that best defined Simple Creatures; it’s gritty, grimy, rooted in the musicality we both came up on, but with a twist that takes it away from anything we’ve worked on before. “

In 2015, All Time Low’s sixth studio album, Future Hearts, entered the UK charts at No.1., while Blink-182  hit the top spot in the UK with their California album (their first for BMG) in 2016.

You can hear Simple Creatures' debut song below:


For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...