Entries for 2017 AIM Awards now open

Entries for 2017 AIM Awards now open

Entries for this year’s AIM Awards are now open, with the event set to take place at London’s The Brewery on Tuesday, September 5.

Ten categories are now open for submissions from both AIM members and non-members. Entry deadline is May 23.

Once again, the AIM Awards will honour the industry’s independent sector, recognising the achievements of the market’s most important individuals and companies.

Among last year’s big winners were the likes of Stormzy (Innovator Award), Christine And The Queens (Independent Breakthrough Of The Year) and Roísín Murphy (Outstanding Contribution To Music).

Meanwhile, a number of new additions have been made to this year’s awards judging panel, with A.Dot (BBC 1Xtra), Alex Hoffman (Vice), Carl Loben (DJMag), Julie Adenuga (Beats1), Laura Snapes (Pitchfork, Guardian, Uncut), Matt Stocks (Scuzz TV), Maya Jama  (RinseFM) and Merlin Alderslade (Metal Hammer) all joining the line-up. You can see the judging panel in full here.

Speaking to Music Week, AIM CEO Paul Pacifico said of the awards: “It serves many purposes to have a night where we come together and remind ourselves of what we have achieved. It’s an expression of power to the outside world”.

Categories for the 2017 Awards are as follows:

Best Small label
Best ‘Difficult' Second Album
Special Catalogue Release of the Year
Hardest Working Band or Artist
Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival
Independent Breakthrough of the Year
Indie Champion Award*
Independent Video of the Year
Best Live Act
Independent Track of the Year
Innovator Award*
Independent Album of the Year
PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act*
Independent Label of the Year*
Outstanding Contribution to Music*
Pioneer Award*

*  Categories shortlisted by judging panel and not open for entry.

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...