Jane Third, Adele White and Ben Durling up for MPG Awards

Jane Third, Adele White and Ben Durling up for MPG Awards

Jane Third’s successful tenure at Because Music UK is recognised in the nominations for the 2018 MPG Awards. Following her recent move to PIAS, Third has been nominated in the A&R category alongside Adele White (Relentless Records) and Ben Durling (Warner Bros Records).

In the week of the Music Week Women In Music Awards, the production music organisation noted that nominees for this year’s MPG Awards represented a quarter of the total shortlist and suggested gender balance in the production sector is improving.

Other nominees include Catherine Marks, Manon Grandjean, Lorde, Marta Salogni, Steph Marziano, Mandy Parnell.

“Winning or being nominated for the MPG Awards shortlist is a huge honour - it’s a big acknowledgement and achievement to even be considered,” said Youth, who received the PPL-sponsored MPG Award for Outstanding Contribution to UK Music in 2016. “What’s great about the MPG Awards is that they recognise the diversity of the music industry – something that is very important today. It’s refreshing to see that the 2018 shortlist includes men and women from lots of different backgrounds and genres.”

Now in its 10th year, the MPG Awards feature 15 award categories that celebrate talent in music production, as well as rising stars. A record number of MPG Full Members casted votes. Final judging will take place at RAK Studios on December 4.

The ceremony takes place on March 1, 2018 at the Grosvenor House, London, where Shaun Keaveny will be the host. Tickets for the 2018 MPG Awards are now on sale.

Last year's winners included Paul Epworth and Tony Visconti.

“Producers rarely get recognition for all the work they do, as they are behind the scenes,” added Youth. “What makes the MPG Awards so great is that they celebrate all the talent and work producers do across all genres. Winning and MPG Award changed my life because you win from the votes of your peers – other music obsessed, kick ass producers like yourself. That’s what makes winning so very special.”

The shortlists for each of the MPG 2018 Awards categories are as follows:

UK Producer Of The Year

Catherine Marks
Charlie Andrew
Tom Dalgety 

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Manon Grandjean
Matt Wiggins
Neil Comber 

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic

Cenzo Townshend
David Wrench
Mark 'Spike' Stent

Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored by Novation

Ewan Pearson
Matthew Herbert

Breakthrough Producer Of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite

Ben Baptie
Guy Massey
Jolyon Thomas

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio

Brian Eno
Glass Animals (Dave Bayley)
Sleaford Mods (Jason Williamson & Andrew Fearn)

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec

Jake Gordon
Marta Salogni
Steph Marziano 

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by British Grove Studios

Garret 'Jacknife' Lee
T Bone Burnett

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Miloco Studios

Barry Grint
Mandy Parnell
Matt Colton

UK Album Of The Year, sponsored by Universal Audio

alt-J: 'RELAXER'
Glass Animals: 'How To Be A Human Being'
Royal Blood: 'How Did We Get So Dark?'

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

Arcade Fire: 'Everything Now'
Harry Styles: 'Sign Of The Times'
Royal Blood: 'Lights Out'

The A&R Award

Adele White
Ben Durling
Jane Third 

Studio Of The Year, sponsored by RME

Abbey Road Studios
RAK Studios
Strongroom Studios 

The MPG 2018 Awards categories in the gift of the MPG are:

The MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by Audio Note

The Award for Outstanding Contribution to UK Music, sponsored by PPL.

author twitter FOLLOW Andre Paine

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...