Jorja Smith, Idles, Goldie and more crowned winners at AIM Independent Music Awards

Jorja Smith, Idles, Goldie and more crowned winners at AIM Independent Music Awards


Jorja Smith, Idles, Goldie and more were among the winners at the 8th annual AIM Independent Music Awards. The event was held on September 4 at The Brewery, Clerkenwell, and was presented by BBC Radio 1’s MistaJam and TV personality Sharon Carpenter.

As well as performing on the night, Nadine Shah claimed the prize for Best Album with her third album Holiday Destination. Other big winners on the night included Jorja Smith, who was chosen as UK Breakthrough Of The Year; elsewhere Dave took home the The PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist and Idles claimed the Hardest Working Group gong. 

On the label side, Ninja Tune scooped Independent Label Of The Year – marking an impressive night for them as they also signed Independent Track Of The Year winner Peggy Gou. The Best Small Label prize went to Black Acre Records.

Ahead of this year’s bash, AIM announced the recipients of its Innovator (Sophie), Pioneer (Goldie) and Outstanding Contribution (Tracey Thorn) awards.


You can see the full list of winners from the AIM Independent Music Awards 2018 below:

Independent Album of the Year - in association with Ingrooves

Nadine Shah - Holiday Destination (1965 Records/[PIAS])

Independent Track of the Year - in association with Spotify
Peggy Gou - It Makes You Forget (Itgehane) (Ninja Tune)

Best Sophomore Release - in association with Radio X
Let's Eat Grandma - I'm All Ears (Transgressive)

UK Breakthrough of the Year - in association with YouTube
Jorja Smith (FAMM)

International Breakthrough of the Year - in association with Deezer
Phoebe Bridgers (Dead Oceans)

Best Live Act - in association with Songkick
Erasure (Mute Records)

Hardest Working Group or Artist
Idles (Partisan Records)

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin)
Tracey Thorn

Pioneer Award

Innovator Award (in association with Fuga)

Best Creative Packaging - in association with MCPS
Black Sabbath - The Ten Year War (BMG)

Independent Label of the Year - in association with Believe
Ninja Tune

Best Small Label - in association with Awesome Merchandise
Black Acre Records

Indie Champion Award - in association with [PIAS]
Femi Adeyemi - Founder of NTS Radio

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act
Dave (Dave)

Independent Video of the Year - in association with Vevo
Novo Amor - Birthplace (AllPoints) / Directed by Sil van der Woerd & Jorik Dozy


Donations were collected throughout the evening for the Young Urban Arts Foundation – a grass-roots charity providing support for young adults and children who are from deprived, underprivileged backgrounds.

You can read what AIM CEO Paul Pacifico had to tell Music Week about the awards and the indie sector ahead of the ceremony here. AIM Award winners Idles tell us all about their story so far in the latest issue of Music Week which subscribers can read here



For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...