The AIM Awards are back - here's everything you need to know about the 2017 edition

The AIM Awards are back - here's everything you need to know about the 2017 edition

Music Week can exclusively reveal details of this year’s AIM (Association Of Independent Music) Awards, as the event returns for its seventh outing. Along with an array of new judges, the 2017 edition of the awards also sees the arrival of a brand new co-host in the form of BBC Radio 1 DJ Clara Amfo, who will share hosting duties with fellow Radio 1 presenter MistaJam.

Taking place once again at The Brewery in London, the 2017 AIM Awards will be held on Tuesday, September 5, as the industry gathers to recognise and celebrate the very best the independent music scene has to offer.

Last year saw grime icon Stormzy honoured with the AIM Innovator award, while Roisin Murphy received the Outstanding Contribution To Music award and XL Recordings’ Richard Russell picked up the Pioneer award.

New additions to this year’s judging panel include A.Dot (BBC 1Xtra), Alex Hoffman (Vice), Carl Loben (DJMag), Julie Adenuga (Beats1), Laura Snapes (Pitchfork, Guardian, Uncut), Matt Stocks (Scuzz TV), Maya Jama  (RinseFM) and Merlin Alderslade (Metal Hammer). You can view the list of judges in full below, along with this year’s category line-up.

“I’m honoured to be hosting this year’s AIM Awards alongside my fellow Radio 1 DJ MistaJam,” commented Clara Amfo. “The ceremony is an important part of the music industry’s awards calendar and a true celebration for new and independent talent.”

Lara Baker, AIM Awards organiser, said of this year’s event: “This will be the seventh year we’ve celebrated the outstanding talent and world-leading A&R of the UK’s independent sector and, come September 5, we’ll be honouring another diverse and exciting list of incredible artists and labels. The UK independent sector is home to some of the world’s most exciting and innovative artists and entrepreneurs, working across every possible genre, and the AIM Awards is a special moment to come together and celebrate their success.”

AIM Awards 2017 Judging Panel

A.Dot BBC 1Xtra
Alex Baker Kerrang! Radio
Alex Hoffman Vice
Alison Howe BBC, Later With Jools…
Carl Loben DJ Mag
Danielle Perry Absolute Radio
DJ TargetBBC 1Xtra
Huw Stephens BBC Radio 1
Jen Walker Freelance journalist
Joe Muggs Freelance journalist
John Kennedy Radio X
Julie Adenuga Beats1
Laura Snapes Freelance journalist
Luke Turner The Quietus
Matt Stocks Scuzz TV
Maya Jama RinseFM
Maz Tappuni Radio X
Merlin Alderslade Metal Hammer
Mike Walsh Radio X
MistaJam BBC Radio1
Pete Paphides Freelance journalist
Ralph Moore Mixmag
Ryan Newman BBC 1Xtra
Sean Adams Drowned In Sound
Steve Lamacq BBC 6Music
Tom Doyle Rock Sound
Tom Robinson BBC 6music

Categories for the 2017 Awards

Best Small label
Best ‘Difficult' Second Album
Special Catalogue Release of the Year
Hardest Working Band or Artist
Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival
Independent Breakthrough of the Year
Indie Champion Award
Independent Video of the Year
Best Live Act
Independent Track of the Year
Innovator Award
Independent Album of the Year
PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act
Independent Label of the Year
Outstanding Contribution to Music
Pioneer Award

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...