The Music Week Playlist: April 9, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: April 9, 2018

The Lemon Twigs
Foolin’ Around (4AD)

The Long Island D’Addario brothers are holed up making their second record, and dispense this barnstorming rock’n’roller from the studio. As a taster of what’s to come, it’s tasty indeed.

Contact: Annette Lee
annettelee@4ad.com


Octavian
Hands (Drilla Records)

Hands is South London rapper Octavian’s darkest release yet. Punctuated with dubby bass, its stop-start rhythm hintsat enticing versatility.

Contact: Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com


Plan B
Queue Jumping (Atlantic)

Plan B goes full falsetto on this track from forthcoming record Heaven Before All Hell Breaks Loose, about something you should not do in Pret.

Contact: Robbie Peacock
robbie.peacock@atlanticrecords.co.uk


James
Better Than That (BMG)

Donald Trump won’t like the new EP from legendary indie-rockers James because they use it to take a swipe at him. Check out, this, the title-track now.

Contact: Jack Delaney
jack.delaney@outside-org.co.uk


Melody’s Echo Chamber
Breathe In, Breathe Out (Domino)

Fun fact: Melody’s Echo Chamber (aka Melody Prochet) played her own drums on this track after learning aged 30. Better late than never, eh?

Contact: Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com


Cardi B
Be Careful (Atlantic)

The only thing Cardi B needs to be careful about is being too awesome.

Contact: Rachel Campbell /Claire Coster
rachel.campbell@atlanticrecords.co.uk / claire.coster@atlanticrecords.co.uk


Petrol Girls
Survivor (Hassle Records)

This song from the Austrian-Bristolian post-hardcore mob was inspired by the #metoo movement. See the band play it on tour this April.

Contact: Sarah Maynard
maynard@majortransmission.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...